Beauty in the Bark

While out for a snowshoe last week I discovered this tree which looked like a heart to me. Wishing everyone a happy (but belated) Valentine’s Day.

2015-02-07 15.44.32

While I was wandering, thinking, puttering, observing, listening and sucking wind I remembered that I had seen a Design Sponge Instagram challenge on texture #dstexture. I have always loved macro photography and figured this would be a good time to play around while I got some fresh air and cleared my head. So instead of going the normal route I followed some older logging paths and animal tracks and took these pictures.

2015-02-07 15.44.16I don’t know the name of the above lichen, however I do have a fancy pants way of remembering what a lichen is. This little saying I learned years ago at camp.

Freddy Fungus and Alice Algae took a lichen to each other, but their marriage is on the rocks.

2015-02-07 15.36.05

Not sure what this lichen is either, however I like that there is a little piece of Old Man’s Beard in the middle.

2015-02-07 15.34.37-1

Birch trees are beautiful. Hope you had a lovely weekend!

 

 

Leave a Reply

